What Can I do with a Duck Carcass After Cleaning?**

 

Boil That Bird!

Boil That Bird!

 

** I’ve updated this article recently. It was posted: How & Why Do I Use a Duck Carcass?

This question keeps coming up – people insert these words into a search engine and they get my site.  I’ve never really answered this question directly and now would be a good time to do so.

The answer is going to be the same whether you have a chicken, hen, duck, goose, turkey or other “largish” fowl – domestic or wild.

~~~

What’s So Great About a Fowl Carcass?

There are three basic reasons I would boil a poultry carcass:

1) The comparison between a quart of  chicken/fowl stock versus a quart of water and bouillon versus purchased chicken/fowl stock is non-existent.

They aren’t even in the same zip code! Stock that has been simmered has so much more flavor!

2) In these tough economic times, it doesn’t make sense to toss the carcass without deriving its goodness for your table.

3) Scientists have proven that the “old wive’s tale” of giving chicken soup to an invalid is NOT an old wive’s tale. There is scientific proof that the nutrients leached from the carcass during cooking are needed by the body to help it recover – from whatever ails them!

The nutrients derived in this way are easier for the elderly to assimilate into their bodies.

All This Sounds Like a Lot of Trouble

Put the fowl carcass into a slow cooker, cover with water, add some onion, 1 tsp. sea salt, garlic (got celery and carrots? add them), and turn it on (low or high)  as you go to bed. How much trouble is that?

In the morning, take the liner out of the cooker, let it cool and put it into the refrigerator (with the lid on) just before you leave.

In the evening, you can skim off the fat (or not, your choice) and pour the juice (strain out the veggies and carcass – discard them) into containers and freeze. If there are tidbits of the meat left from the bones, I add it to the broth.

Now What?

Any soup, stew, gravy — whatever you make from this stock will be 100% more valuable to your body than the purchased, the bullion or the plain water.

I can think of dozens of uses for this stock. Save it for colds season and make soup. Use it as a base for black bean soup (or any other dried beans/legumes).

Use it as the base for a chicken stew (toss into a slow cooker:  onions, carrots, potatoes, garlic, celery, leftover chicken, whatever you have). Let it cook for 6 to 8 hours, adjust seasonings, enjoy!

Finally

Our forefathers and fore mothers never wasted anything. Creating their own fish or chicken or beef stock is one of the ways they stayed healthy.

BTW, I always add a teaspoon of sea salt to any stock I’m creating from a carcass. Salt helps leach more nutrients out of the bones.

Do I use quail or doves for this? No, they are too small.

Hopes this helps someone!

This blog is a companion to my website:  GreatGhilliesAndGraphics.com Do you “tweet”? For the latest, when it is published, follow my twitter reports @ http://twitter.com/marylouise22.com 

4 Comments

  1. […] Go to the author’s original blog: What Can I do with a Duck Carcass After Cleaning … […]

  2. I disagree with the processing of a DUCK carcass, simply because duck and maybe, other wild game are particularly YUMMY and expensive. Anything more creative?

  3. Dear DL,

    Goodness, you’re right … I wasn’t clear. I’m not suggesting that one discard the meat and just use the bones. Re-reading this article, I realize that I wasn’t clear. After using the meat, I save the bones and cook in in a crockpot.

    Here are some of the recipes we use:

    Tex-Mex Duckling (https://marylouise22.wordpress.com/2008/11/13/recipes-6-tex-mex-duckling)

    Just Ducky: Exciting Recipes for Wild Duck (https://marylouise22.wordpress.com/2008/10/17/just-ducky-exciting-recipes-4-wild-duck/)

    Turning Wild Ducks into Fine Dining (https://marylouise22.wordpress.com/2008/10/06/turning-wild-birds-into-fine-dining-recipes/)

    Turn Wild Birds Into Gourmet Fare (1 of 2) (https://marylouise22.wordpress.com/2008/09/24/hunters-turn-wild-birds-into-gourmet-fare/

    Turn Wild Birds Into Gourmet Fare (2 of 2) (https://marylouise22.wordpress.com/2008/09/29/hunters-turn-wild-birds-into-gourmet-fare-part-2/)

    There are so many wonderful things about WordPress, but, the comment box does not allow me to turn these articles into clickable sites. However, the locations of each article are in the ().

    Thanks for the question, which gives me a chance to clarify my meaning. I appreciate the opportunity to make the corrections!

    Best wishes,
    Marylouise

  4. […] What Can I do with a Duck Carcass After Cleaning? […]


Comments are closed.

