The Plural of “Thermos”

Just to prove that we work 24/7 to satisfy the insatiable 

Working like a dog to find the answers!

Working like a dog to find the answers!

 

curiosity of our readers, here’s the answer.

 

~~~

ther·mos (thûr’məs) — Pronunciation Key
n. plural = ther·mos·es
A vacuum bottle used to keep beverages hot or cold.

[Originally a trademark.]

The American Heritage® Dictionary of the English Language, Fourth Edition
Copyright © 2006 by Houghton Mifflin Company.
Published by Houghton Mifflin Company. All rights reserved.

~~~

I know, I know…. now you want the question. (Some of you have been watching “Jeopardy” too long!)

WordPress has a nifty tool that tells us how people find our site.  Believe it or not, someone was searching for the plural of “thermos.”

Back, when dinosaurs roamed the earth, I wrote an article joking about the plural of ‘thermos.’  I said I thought it should be ‘thermi.’

Based on this obscure reference, a search engine send some poor student of the English language to my site. The least I can do is set the record straight!

Probably, it’s too late for that person, but I’ve made it my personal goal to seek and report the right answer.

Now I can take a rest! Whew! This ice is cold!!

~

This blog is a companion to my website:  GreatGhilliesAndGraphics.com

Published in: on January 22, 2009 at 9:34 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags: ,

2 Comments

  1. Thanks for a great article!

  2. Great site. Keep up good work!


Comments are closed.

