Do You Store an Acetylene Bottle in Your Trunk?

A Lesson in Las Vegas

This is a quote from Ron Butcher, Clark County Safety Officer:

 

A Blast in Las Vegas!

 


“The extensive damage in the images shown below was caused by an acetylene tank that was leaking inside a plumber’s van.

Please ensure that we aren’t storing ANY flammables inside County owned vehicles. Please feel free to share this information with anyone you may know in the trades or who may carry flammables inside their POV.”

 

The Plumber's Former Van!

Thanks to Mike Shumaker of Parks & Recreation for providing this information!

The Facts – Not on Snopes.com

This is the result of a leaking Acetylene bottle stored in a plumber’s van 10-22-09.

Accidentally ignited by activating a remote door lock device!

 

'There Goes the Neighborhood!'

 

 

Note the Info in the Top Right Corner!

 

Looking at the Former Van from the Air!

 

 

Fascinating Look from the Air!

 

I Wonder How Much the Plumber's Auto Insurance Rates Went Up!

 

This is tangible proof that ‘What You Don’t Know Can Hurt You!’

Other Viewers

While checking the Internet to make sure these are legit photos, I found some interesting comments.

On Fast Freddie’s Fabrications, there was some discussion and then Cory asks, “Well boys and girls what is the moral of this story?”

Idoxlr8 sagely says, “Don’t open a vehicle with a remote unless you are wearing body armor and a helmet.”

Finally

These photos are making the rounds of forums dedicated to welders, plumbers, etc.  These are graphic reminders of the dangers of mishandling chemicals.

MDH * sent them to me; they were distributed to the workers at the chemical plant where he works!

~~~

This blog is a companion to my website: GreatGhilliesAndGraphics.com

~~~

* MDH = My Deer Husband or “He Who Likes to be Obeyed … but rarely is.”

 

 

Published in: on January 15, 2010 at 7:59 am  Comments (5)  
Tags:

5 Comments

  1. What a great website,the information on the topic is relevant and very on point. Navigating the site was real easy and I will bookmark your page for future visits.

  2. I love this site marylouise22.wordpress.com. Lot of great information. I am Tech guy. I have been a Desktop Technician since 1997 but have tons of other interests. In my spare time… Oh, wait I don’t have any of that (just kidding). Anyways, I have been aware of this website for quite some time and decided to join the community and contribute as well as learn a lot from others. I am excited to get started on the forum and am looking forward to a great journey together. Lots of potential friends and I look forward to meeting many online.

  3. Dear Emetouchenove,

    Thanks for stopping by and joining our happy band of blog-ites! Thanks for the kind words.

    Marylouise

  4. Hi everyone!
    I’m introducing myself. My name in Edmund and I’m 19yo. I’m interested internet, computers and technology.
    I hope I’ll stay loner with you. I thing it’s very nice forum 🙂

    ———
    My homepage:
    tapety
    http://www.tapety-komputerowe.info/ – tapety na pulpit

  5. Dear Ed,

    Thanks for introducing yourself to the group!

    Marylouise


Comments are closed.

