A Great Hunting Forum: TalkHunting.com **

 

 

Although I’ve followed TalkHunting.com through their tweets, I recently spent time on the site and like what I see.   If you are into hunting – this is a very friendly place.

With All the Tips & Hints Flying Around on TalkHunting.com, These Turkeys Should Be Shaking in their Shoes!

TalkHunting.com

I’m not sure 400 words is enough room to explain this site!  A year ago, they decided to collect wild game recipes for a cookbook and recipes started to arrive.  Are you familiar with “Canned Venison/Elk?”  I wasn’t.

At the bottom of page one, Captain Dale offers the recipe as a pdf file.   Put raw slices of meat with some condiments in canning jars. By the time the pressure cooker has done its job, the meat is cooked and processed.

Forums for Various Types of Hunting

Although there are areas of general interest (Announcements & Events; Free Classified Ads, etc.), there are separate forums for specific hunting interests:  Deer, Turkey, Big Game,  Water Fowl & Game Birds, Other Critters (hogs, predators, etc.), and Hunting with Kids.

The thing that impressed me most was hunters helping hunters – with tips and suggestions.  An example in the “Turkey Hunter > New Turkey Hunter” Forum:  Someone new to hunting turkey asked how to get started. Seasoned hunters welcomed the newcomer and shared useful advice.

Free Hunting Products Given Away Monthly

An interesting aside to this site is the fact that hunting product sponsors offer a variety of items to be given away each month!  TalkHunting.com has devised a great way to distribute those prizes.

Members (yes, you must be a registered member to qualify) must promote the quality of the forum by participating in discussions.  You need to offer a minimum number of posts for your name to be added to the pot for the drawings.  Additional posts by members mean more chances of winning!

Why I Like This Site

I’m a native Houstonian and our family moved a great deal during my early years. Chatting with a stranger has never come naturally to me.  In fact, the entire concept of “social media” leaves me cold.

However, I’ve really enjoyed lurking (reading, but not commenting)* on this site.  I’ve learned quite a bit in the time I’ve spent there.

If you are looking for friendly folks, lots of support, interesting stories and photos, this is a great spot.   Say … lets lurk together!

On the site, I’m “marylouise22.”

~~~

* Lurking is common for newcomers; you learn how things work, how to comment, etc.  Of course, the expectation is that before long, you will want to participate.  This is a easy site to get started.

~

‘Proud Crowd’ is used by permission of ClearVue Graphics!

~~~

This blog is a companion to my website: GreatGhilliesAndGraphics.com

 

2 Comments

  1. Hello All marylouise22.wordpress.com members,

    Just wanted to stop by an introduce myself to you all.. My name is Carl Scouls and I am a 37 year old veterenarian.

    Although this is my first post I am definitely not new around here.. I have been lurking around this forum for quite some time now and I love this community..!

    Happy to be hear guys..

    Regards..

    Carl.

  2. Dear Carl,

    The more the merrier! Thanks for introducing yourself; I often wonder who are my readers!

    Thanks also for taking the time to write!

    — Marylouise


Comments are closed.

