A Few Freshwater Fishing Tips

Fishing in Small Streams

Newbie anglers are often surprised when I recommend  keeping a low profile when fishing in these waters.  The axiom is:  ‘If you can see the fish, the fish can see you!’

Dress for the occasion in mustard, beige or yellow clothing.  It is harder for the fish to notice these colors.

Although fish do not have ears (as we know them), they can tell humans are near by the stomping of anglers, shouting, loud talking, revving up boat motors, etc.

Since there are fewer fish in small streams, you don’t want to spook the ones available!  It may take hours before they return to your site.

Is This Your First Time Fishing in a Large Stream? Some Hints.

Fishing in a Large Stream

Fishing in a new area?  One of the best ways to scout a new large stream is to move around and try to find the deep holes.

Have a GPS device?  It’s the ‘new fangled way’ to mark holes and/or great fishing spots for future use.

Fish like to use features of the body of water to their advantage.  For example:  Predator fish like to hover in piles of debris (collected logs, rotting trees & branches that may have piled up in the water.

Predators like to hide in weeds, holes and behind submerged boulders — waiting for their next meal to stroll by!

Look around for structures where fish may hide.  One of my favorite fishing locations is to drop my line near an exposed boulder.

If I can get my line in the right place without snagging it on submerged logs or rocks, I have a very good chance to catch a bigger fish (that is preying on smaller fishes).

What amazes me is that I can continue to harvest fish from those rocks for some time.  When I catch one predator, another takes its place.

Fish are nervous creatures.  Instead of moving around in the open areas of the water, they prefer to use the underground structures.

I guess it is because no matter how big a fish you are, there’s a larger one looking to invite you to be their supper!

~

Just received some new “amazing photos.” Will post them soon.

~

Come back Sunday: I’ll show off some new items  — Native American Graphics!

~

Don’t Forget: My NRA Rear Window Graphics are on Sale during the month of February!

~

This blog is a companion to my website:  GreatGhilliesAndGraphics.com

·

We now have 900 + Graphics in 26 Categories!

Published in: on February 10, 2011 at 10:13 pm  Comments Off on A Few Freshwater Fishing Tips  
Tags: , , ,
